Tags

, , ,

Ok, well, perhaps not, but it comes pretty damned close. I’ve been toying with the idea of making it for a while now and finally took the decadent plunge. I cannot tell you how badly i was kicking myself for not making it sooner. It was creamy, cheesy, sweet, and just a little spicy. The photo below just does not do it any sort of justice.  Since this was my first time making it and trying it out on the family, I went a little light on the crab. I didn’t know how everyone would react. Now that I know everyone loves it, next time, more crab! Now, as far as this recipe goes, this is my best estimation. I am not a recipe follower, I am wholeheartedly a “throw cook”. I use recipes as a guide for things I don’t make often or have never made before, but I rarely, if ever, follow them to the letter.  I hope that is how people will use my recipes, as a guide.  Use your best judgment when you cook. If something looks off to you, don’t follow it and blame the recipe, do what seems right to you.

Crab Macaroni and Cheese

1 box pasta of your choice [my family likes shells]

1 8 ounce box velveeta [cut into cubes]

8 ounces both cheddar cheese and monterey jack cheese [cut into cubes]

approximately 1 pound crab meat [you can use imitation crab, that’s always cheaper and tastes just as good in this recipe]

approx. 1 cup milk

1/2 cup half and half

2 eggs [beaten]

salt

pepper

garlic powder

dried mustard

Old Bay seasoning

Process:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Boil noodles as usual. Drain well. Pour into your casserole dish. Toss with butter, sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, dried mustard and Old Bay. [Do this to YOUR taste. As I have said, I don’t really measure things, so use your best judgment regarding seasonings!] Pour in the half and half and milk, and add the beaten eggs. Stir well. The liquid should be visible. Not completely covering the noodles, but about half way. Stick the cubes of cheese down into the noodles, and do the same with the crab. Pop that bad boy in the oven. Set the timer for 10 minutes. The cheese should be melting about now, if not, give it a few more minutes, if it is, take it out of the oven and give it a stir. Pop it back in and let it finish up. It should take about 20 more minutes, but keep an eye on it. All ovens are different. It’s done when it’s nice and bubbly and the top is starting to brown. I like mine a bit more crispy on top so i let mine go a little longer. Remember what I said about cooking to your own taste and using this as a guide.

That should easily feed a family of four. I feed 7 on a regular basis so I make a bit more.  I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I did. If not, send me hate mail. I’m a big girl. I can take it. XD

