Tags

, ,

Enchiladas are amazing. Cheeseburgers are by far my absolute favorite food on the planet, but enchiladas are pretty high on my list. Anything that involves gooey melted cheese is aces in my book. These particular enchiladas were the result of me just throwing things together, including a few spices that aren’t what you think of when you hear enchiladas. Curry powder and Moroccan seasoning to be specific. I know it sounds crazy, but the result was pretty damn good.vegetableenchiladas

Look at all that delicious cheese. Mmmmmm. Sorry about that. I got distracted. The recipe for these is pretty simple. I didn’t make the tortillas by hand like I usually do. [Curse you, tendonitis!], but they were yummy nonetheless. So, the meat of the recipe is going to be for the veggie filling, which was absolutely delicious.  So, without further ado…

Veggie Enchiladas [makes approximately 5 -6 enchiladas]

1/4 of an eggplant, cut into thin strips

1/2 of a zucchini, cut into strips

8 ounces mushrooms [I used crimini], diced

1 small onion

2 cloves garlic

sweet corn [I just used a few spoonfuls]

black beans [one can, drained]

1/4 cup olive oil

salt

pepper

curry powder [In enchiladas? Yes! Trust me!]

cumin

Moroccan seasoning [I know, I know, but trust me, it will be delicious!]

cayenne pepper

8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese

Now, for the seasonings, I eyeball it. I rarely ever measure and this time I didn’t at all because I was just throwing things in. Use your best judgement. If there’s something you’d like to add, add it. [Remember, these recipes are guides! Have fun!]

First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Now, add the olive oil to the pan on medium high heat. Add onions, then garlic. Once those are fragrant, add your spices. Mix that around until it’s nice and fragrant. Now start adding the veggies. Saute those around until they’re nice and covered with the spice mixture. It’ll look like this when it’s done.

veggiefilling

Pretty isn’t it? Ok, once that is all done, put a few teaspoons of filling into your tortillas. Fold over the ends and roll ’em up! Pour some enchilada sauce into a baking dish, put your rolled up enchiladas into the dish, cover with more enchilada sauce and some grated Monterey Jack cheese and bake for around 15 to 20 minutes. Enjoy!

